Hiking Trails – Rattlesnake Ledge, North Bend, Washington

20121130-173012.jpg

Well once again I managed to squeeze all the advantage I could out of a four day trip to Seattle by making a second early AM excursion to visit a local trail and peak/overlook before the season got too snowy and the Parks service started shutting gates and trails down.

This trail by recommended to me by it’s huge number of ratings on Alltrails.com, and also by a friend who is formerly of the Seattle area. It was known for its great overlook ledge at the summit, looking out over Rattlesnake Lake.

I arrived around 8am and was surprised that despite the drizzling rain, fifty degree temperatures and thirty mile per hour wind… there were at least two other cars parked at the Trailhead!

The reviews didn’t lie when it said this was a well frequented trail. It has lovely, well maintained parking and public access to chem-pot Commodes.

20121130-173105.jpg

The trail itself is a standard out-and-back view. You gain about 1100ft of altitude from the parking lot to the ledge, all in around 2 miles of uphill. It is paced fairly well with switchbacks, but I’d say you’d be drenched by the end of the ascent in the summer. As it was, I was heated up enough that my softshell letting the wind in at the top gave me a chill, and I was glad to have packed my Patagonia Nanopuff just in case.

20121130-173040.jpg

The return hike is quick, probably 40 minutes compared to 80 minutes for the ascent. Nice views, even in the rain. Even with a pack of tourists nipping at my heels I was able to achieve a sense of solitude for the climb and only really met folks on the way back down. I recommend going early and packing lots of water.

20121130-172945.jpg

As ever, all shots are iPhone 4S!

2 Comments

November 30, 2012 · 7:28 pm

2 responses to “Hiking Trails – Rattlesnake Ledge, North Bend, Washington

  1. Wind

    Nice shots from Iphone 4S. Amazing 🙂

    • Achilles

      Thanks man! I use a few iPhone magnetic lenses available from Photojojo and an App called SnapSeed to clean them up afterwards.

      I really love the iPhone for backpacking and traveling (as long as you have a hardened waterproof case). It’s multi-functionality saves lots of space and weight!

Leave a Reply

